top of page
Search

Amanda poppy field shoot

Updated: Aug 5, 2020

Hi my name is Launa Penza, I am a California girl, born and raised. My passion for photography started when I was 18 years old. I did my first overseas trip to Italy and fell in love with photo documenting my travels.

I realized during my travel adventures that I loved to shoot people/street photography, animals, and nature. I have always driven my family and friends a little crazy insisting on pictures of all the extraordinary and ordinary moments in your lives. In spite of all their fussing, they have all thanked me for it now.

Before becoming a photographer I had a successful career in print and commercial modeling, acting, public speaking and as an NFL cheerleader for the Los Angeles Raiders. Having experience in front of the camera has given me the ability to relate to, and help my seniors/clients feel more at ease and confident during their sessions.....and most importantly to have fun!


I get inspired for my shoots through my day dreams, looking at fashion and editorial magazines, other photographers art, and social media Like Pinterest.

I love butterflies and flowers. I have visited different flower fields in Southern California and have seen some beautiful artistic images from photographers around the world. I knew we were having a “super bloom of poppies” in Lancaster that year. I wanted to create something artistic that blended with the environment. I chose the yellows and oranges to compliment the natural surroundings.


I chose the Lancaster Poppy fields because of the super bloom that year.

My inspiration for the headpiece came from some vintage Vogue magazine.


I was introduced to Amanda by my son. She actually came out for some other photo shoots with me to help and assist. I asked her if she‘d be interested in doing a shoot together sometime? She had never been shot professionally before, but she said she’d love to do a shoot together. I shared my ideas with her and we made her head piece together.


I chose the poppy fields at golden hour to add to the warmth and color theme of our shoot. I use all natural light , except sometimes adding a reflector. My son , Cameron, is one of my PA’s and assisted in bouncing some of that golden glow onto Amanda. My little puppy Angel has always been my side-kick too, so of course having her in one or two pictures was a bonus.


Below you fill find a little behind the scenes shot.






32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ana

Morgan

bottom of page